Virginia Senators

The Senate of Virginia consists of 40 members. Each member is elected for a term of four years and receives an annual salary of $18,000. A Senator represents approximately 200,000 citizens of the Commonwealth. The Lieutenant Governor is the presiding officer of the Senate and is elected in a statewide election for a four-year term. In the event of his absence, the President pro tempore carries out the duties of the presiding officer. The President pro tempore is elected by the Senate for a term of four years.

The Clerk of the Senate is elected by the Senate. The Clerk's duties are overseeing the daily operations of the Senate, maintaining all Senate records, keeping the daily Journal, and referring bills to committees.

Related Links:
  1. Senate Member Listings See lists and directories for Senate members.
  2. Senate Seating Charts Downloadable seating charts for Senate members.
  3. Senate District Maps See detailed maps of Senate districts.
  4. Who's My Legislator? Find out who represents you with this service.
  5. Communicate with your Legislators Reaching your legislator